IE11 Not Supported

For optimal browsing, we recommend Chrome, Firefox or Safari browsers.

State Technology Department Updates Roster of Key Executives

The state chief information officer and her deputy are among the new faces of leadership in the California Department of Technology.

This story is limited to Industry Insider — California members.
This story is limited to Industry Insider — California members. Login below to read this story or learn about membership.
Liana Bailey-Crimmins
Liana Bailey-Crimmins
At the winding down of a year marked by significant changes in leadership in the state’s technology governance, the California Department of Technology (CDT) has published a guide to who’s who among the department’s top tech executives.

State Chief Information Officer Liana Bailey-Crimmins, a veteran tech leader who’s also CDT’s director, was named to that post in June by Gov. Gavin Newsom.

Jared Johnson, also a longtime state technologist, was named deputy state CIO and chief deputy director of the department this month.

Jared Johnson.JPG
Jared Johnson
Moving through the ranks alphabetically, the following is a ready reference to the rest of CDT’s leadership:

Scott Adams is CDT’s deputy director for Broadband and Digital Literacy.

Sahana Ayer is CDT’s chief counsel.

Brenda Bridges-Cruz is CDT’s deputy director of Special Projects.

Miles Burnett is the department’s chief administrative officer.

Suzie Changus is the state’s chief technology officer.

Edmond Cheung is the department’s deputy director of legislation.

John Cleveland is the deputy state chief information security officer.

Chinyere “Chi” Emodi is California’s chief project officer.

Pam Haase is CDT’s deputy director of strategic initiatives.

Scott MacDonald is the state’s deputy chief technology officer.

Mark Monroe is CDT’s deputy director for the broadband Middle-Mile Initiative.

Amy Norris is CDT’s deputy director of communications.

Vitaliy Panych is California’s chief information security officer.

Jonathan Porat is the state’s chief technology innovation officer.

Andrew Wertin is the department’s deputy chief project officer.

Quentin Wright is the CIO for the department.

The full chart, with photos of most of these executives, can be viewed here.
Dennis Noone is Executive Editor of Industry Insider. He is a career journalist, having worked as a reporter and editor at small-town newspapers and major metropolitan dailies in California, Nevada, Texas and Virginia, including as an editor with USA Today in Washington, D.C. He lives in Northern California.